A Photo Really Is Worth 1000 Words

Nashville, Tennessee is a city that I grew up loving. My family would visit every summer. I love this town. My childhood dreams consisted of moving to Music City and working in the music business. At 18, I packed my stuff and made the move. Five years after moving here I began working in the industry that I grew up loving.

The storms of May 1 and 2, 2010 have left my city under water. There truly are no words when you see places like Opryland Hotel and the Grand Ole Opry house filled with water. Photography is the only way to truly express the devastation and sadness that is in and around Nashville today. I’ve done nothing but look through hundreds of photos and videos of the destruction. I can’t believe and process the photos that I’ve seen.

I wish I was able to go out and take pictures to capture the essence of this tragedy, but I don’t want to get in the way of the clean up. I have seen some truly amazing photos that show the beauty in the disaster. It’s pictures like that, that make me glad I have the ability to take photos that can tell a story. Pictures that can tell a story are the reason why I love being a photographer.

One thought on “A Photo Really Is Worth 1000 Words

  1. Photography is all about capturing a moment in time, a moment to remember. Sometimes it is worth more than 1,000 words, sometimes it is worth nothing. Capture the memory to remember forever.

Leave a comment